Important Election Dates

Important Election Dates

City of St. John's 2021 Municipal Election

For Candidates

Residency required to qualify as candidate Sunday, July 25, 2021
First day for nominations Tuesday, August 24, 2021
Last day for nominations Tuesday, August 31, 2021
Last day to withdraw nomination Wednesday, September 1, 2021
Last day to apply for a recount Friday, October 1, 2021
Swearing-in ceremony Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Last day to file campaign contribution/ expense declaration Thursday, October 28, 2021

 

For Voters

Residency required to qualify as a voter Sunday, August 29, 2021
Mailing day for Vote by Mail kits Second week in September
Last day to mail return envelope                                   Thursday, September 23, 2021*
Election period (approximately)* Thursday, September 9, 2021 to
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Election Day Tuesday, September 28, 2021
*Please note dates are subject to change and are based on Canada Post Delivery Standards.