Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 3:00pm
While skating at The Loop in Bannerman Park, take a selfie with The Skater statue, post it to social media using the hashtag #SkaterSelfie by Feb.28 to enter to win a BeaverTails gift certificate.
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 2:45pm
​St. John’s ChillFest is a community-wide celebration of winter, with a variety of indoor and outdoor events and activities taking place Feb. 14-18.
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 4:15pm
Show your support for the REAL Program by purchasing a Valentine’s Heart at one of our community centres.
Monday, January 29, 2018 - 1:00pm
To enhance snow clearing and improve accessibility downtown, a new pilot parking restriction will be in place 3:30 a.m. to 6:30 a.m. daily, beginning Tuesday, Jan. 30, 2018.
Friday, January 26, 2018 - 11:45am
Thank you to Sandbox Gaming for their recent donation of $4,032.52 to the REAL program.
Friday, January 19, 2018 - 12:30pm
NEW this season, the Winter Activity Centre is offering snowshoe rentals at Bowring Park on the weekends for six weeks beginning Saturday, Jan.20.
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 2:45pm
As part of our ongoing efforts to continuously improve our public engagement work, we are collecting feedback on the automated garbage collection engagement process.
Friday, January 12, 2018 - 10:30am
We received more cardboard recycling during the recent Deboxing Days campaign, which is a 170 per cent increase for the same period before the promotion began.
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:15pm
The Winter Activity Centre at Pippy Park is open for the season. As snow conditions can change, call the Info Line at 737-3651 to learn updated facility operations and trail conditions.
Tuesday, January 9, 2018 - 11:30am
This is the last week to drop off natural, undecorated Christmas trees to be chipped and used in future landscaping projects in City parks and open spaces.
Tuesday, January 2, 2018 - 1:15pm
The Winter On-Street Parking Ban for streets outside downtown begins at 12:30 a.m. Wed. Jan.3, 2018 and is effect daily from 12:30-7:30 a.m. regardless of conditions.
Monday, January 1, 2018 - 12:00pm
The postponed outdoor concert featuring The Navigators takes place from 7 to 8:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 1 near the boathouse at Quidi Vidi Lake.
Sunday, December 31, 2017 - 10:30am
The Loop at Bannerman Park opens for the New Year’s Eve skating party, 4-6 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 31 and will remain open for the 2017-18 season, when conditions are favourable:
Friday, December 22, 2017 - 9:30am
The City clears sidewalks on at least one side of the majority of all arterial and collector streets near schools. There are 36 schools in total. Areas immediately adjacent to schools are the first
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 - 2:45pm
Decorate our Tree of Giving by purchasing a bulb, with all proceeds going toward providing recreation and leisure opportunities to children and youth in need.
Friday, December 8, 2017 - 12:45pm
The City of St. John's invites everyone to ring in the New Year with a free concert featuring the Navigators next to the Quidi Vidi Lake boathouse starting at 10 p.m. on December 31.
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 9:15am
GivingTuesday is a global movement for giving and volunteering when charities and non-profits encourage companies and individuals to support their communities.
Friday, November 17, 2017 - 6:00pm
From Monday, Nov. 20 to Friday, Nov. 24 the City of St. John’s is holding a food drive to collect non-perishable food items in support of the Community Food Sharing Association.
Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 3:45pm
National Child Day in Canada is Nov.20 and the City of St. John’s is recognizing it with a week full of free events from Nov.19-26.
Friday, November 10, 2017 - 12:15pm
Every year on November 11, Canadians pause in a silent moment of remembrance for the men and women who have served, and continue to serve our country during times of war, conflict and peace.
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 - 1:30pm
Save the date for the City of St. John's Food Drive, taking place this year from Nov. 20-24.
Monday, November 6, 2017 - 2:45pm
Leaves placed at the curb for pick up must be in paper yard waste bags. Leaves in plastic bags will not be collected and will be left at the curbside.
Friday, October 20, 2017 - 4:00pm
The 2017 Tim Hortons Brier was worth an estimated $10.1 million to the province, including $9.1 million to the City of St. John’s economy.
Friday, October 20, 2017 - 11:30am
The Kiwanis Club of St. John's were among the first supporters of the R.E.A.L. Program when it began 15 years ago, and have continued their generosity every year since.
Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 11:45am
October 16 to 22 is Waste Reduction Week in Canada and to celebrate we're hosting a fair, a selfie contest and a backyard composting information session.

Pages