Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Friday, April 20, 2018 - 10:45am
The City of St. John’s is evaluating the recent overnight winter parking restrictions on sections of Water and Duckworth Streets...
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 10:45am
Street cleaning removes dirt and debris from streets, reduces the amount of debris going into storm sewers, and prevents damage to infrastructure.
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 1:15pm
City of St. John’s employees participated in Jersey Day today as part of a national tribute to the City of Humboldt and Humboldt Broncos.
Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 3:45pm
St. John’s and Happy City St.John’s recently announced a collaboration to enter the Canadian Smart Cities Challenge. City residents are encourage to take a short survey to help inform the application.
Monday, April 2, 2018 - 1:30pm
The Loop in Bannerman Park closes for the season at 5 p.m. Monday, April 2 as it is no longer possible to maintain ice at the required thickness for a safe and enjoyable skating experience.
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 1:15pm
What’s happening to our recycling material now that China is no longer accepting recycling from Canada? You might be surprised at the answer, but we're not - we planned it this way.
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 4:00pm
To celebrate Multiculturalism Week the St. John's Local Immigration Partnership and Project Kindness helped the community create a short welcoming message video.
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 1:15pm
Today, the City of St. John’s and St. John’s Sports and Entertainment, in partnership with Atlantic Sports Enterprises Ltd and Deacon Investments Ltd finalized a MOU to bring hockey to Mile One.
Friday, March 9, 2018 - 11:45am
Former Mayor Shannie Duff has been nominated for the city's highest award...
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 9:45am
The 2018 capital plan is the last year in a three year strategy announced in 2016. The discretionary spending for 2018 has risen to $7.9 million.
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 12:45pm
Snow has returned to the city and with it the opportunity for outdoor winter recreation.
Monday, February 26, 2018 - 11:15am
The deadline to apply to be a performer in our annual youth talent show is extended to Friday, March 2. For more detail and how to apply click 'read more'.
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 11:15am
On February 28, during Committee of the Whole, Council will review the City’s annual capital budget plan for 2018.
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 3:00pm
While skating at The Loop in Bannerman Park, take a selfie with The Skater statue, post it to social media using the hashtag #SkaterSelfie by Feb.28 to enter to win a BeaverTails gift certificate.
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 2:45pm
​St. John’s ChillFest is a community-wide celebration of winter, with a variety of indoor and outdoor events and activities taking place Feb. 14-18.
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 4:15pm
Show your support for the REAL Program by purchasing a Valentine’s Heart at one of our community centres.
Monday, January 29, 2018 - 1:00pm
To enhance snow clearing and improve accessibility downtown, a new pilot parking restriction will be in place 3:30 a.m. to 6:30 a.m. daily, beginning Tuesday, Jan. 30, 2018.
Friday, January 26, 2018 - 11:45am
Thank you to Sandbox Gaming for their recent donation of $4,032.52 to the REAL program.
Friday, January 19, 2018 - 12:30pm
NEW this season, the Winter Activity Centre is offering snowshoe rentals at Bowring Park on the weekends for six weeks beginning Saturday, Jan.20.
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 2:45pm
As part of our ongoing efforts to continuously improve our public engagement work, we are collecting feedback on the automated garbage collection engagement process.
Friday, January 12, 2018 - 10:30am
We received more cardboard recycling during the recent Deboxing Days campaign, which is a 170 per cent increase for the same period before the promotion began.
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:15pm
The Winter Activity Centre at Pippy Park is open for the season. As snow conditions can change, call the Info Line at 737-3651 to learn updated facility operations and trail conditions.
Tuesday, January 9, 2018 - 11:30am
This is the last week to drop off natural, undecorated Christmas trees to be chipped and used in future landscaping projects in City parks and open spaces.
Tuesday, January 2, 2018 - 1:15pm
The Winter On-Street Parking Ban for streets outside downtown begins at 12:30 a.m. Wed. Jan.3, 2018 and is effect daily from 12:30-7:30 a.m. regardless of conditions.
Monday, January 1, 2018 - 12:00pm
The postponed outdoor concert featuring The Navigators takes place from 7 to 8:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 1 near the boathouse at Quidi Vidi Lake.

Pages