Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 4:30pm
Interview with Mayor Danny Breen and Councillor Sandy Hickman about the future of Mile One and the Convention Centre.
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 3:00pm
Understanding the budget and what’s involved in the budgeting process will help you understand how we use your tax dollars to provide the services and programs you have come to expect.
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 9:15am
In 2019, the capital city is going to face a number of operational pressures, including anticipated increases to our annual light and power bill...
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 2:45pm
Information to assist residents in the Petty Harbour Long Pond water service area...
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 1:00pm
You’re invited to BikeFest on Sunday, September 16, a free cycling event for all ages and abilities in downtown St.John's.
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 - 9:45am
Splash pads at Bowring Park and Bannerman Park are an alternative to cool down until Monday, Sept. 3, as the outdoor pools are closed for the season.
Friday, August 24, 2018 - 11:15am
New softball pitch getting great use this summer...
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 - 11:45am
The impact of property values on City revenue and budgeting...
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 - 10:15am
There are many beautiful, healthy and friendly cats available for adoption at Humane Services, in the City of St.John's.
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 12:30pm
Children ages 10 to 12 who were participants in our recent Explore Leadership one-week day camp, held a bake sale to raise funds for the REAL Program.
Friday, August 10, 2018 - 9:45am
The fall 2018 edition of the City Guide has been delivered to residential mailboxes in St. John's.
Tuesday, July 31, 2018 - 9:15am
What's happening downtown this summer? You're going to love it...
Friday, July 27, 2018 - 12:30pm
A recent donation of $500 from the Coleman Group of Companies has supported five children and youth from low income families in their pursuit of recreation this summer.
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 2:30pm
Splash pads at Bowring Park and Bannerman Park are open daily from 9 a.m. to dusk, until Labour Day.
Monday, July 23, 2018 - 1:45pm
Motorists in St. John's can use PayByPhone's mobile app to pay at 136 parking spaces on Harbour Drive. For those who do not want to download the app, the toll-free number to call is 1-866-234-7275.
Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 1:00pm
Each season our Recreation Division offers a variety of workshops, classes and other programs to all ages and interests. There are openings available in some of the upcoming sessions.
Friday, July 13, 2018 - 12:30pm
In St. John's dogs and cats are prohibited from running at large. Dogs must be on a leash and under owners control at all times when off the owner's property, including in City parks.
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 1:30pm
Today, Mayor Danny Breen was joined by members of City Council, Mrs. Sally Johnson, and family and friends of the late Paul Johnson for the official opening of the Paul Johnson Memorial Park playgroun
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 4:00pm
The swimming pool at Bowring Park turns 50 years-old this summer! The City of St. John’s and the Bowring Park Foundation are hosting a public celebration at the pool at 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, July 11.
Wednesday, July 4, 2018 - 10:45am
Party In The Park is an annual event that includes greetings from council, local entertainment and light refreshments...
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 4:00pm
The Canadian Red Cross Society is accepting applications for Emergency Response Team Responder volunteer positions throughout Canada, including in Newfoundland and Labrador.
Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 9:45am
The St. John’s Days festivities begin with a bang when Mayor Danny Breen and the Association for New Canadians fire the Noon Day Gun at Signal Hill National Historic Site on Friday, June 22.
Monday, June 18, 2018 - 3:00pm
The REAL Program is immensely grateful to the volunteers from Public Prosecution Services of Canada who gave our sports equipment library a thorough and much needed cleaning after a season of use.
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - 12:15pm
What changes are being proposed? Read on...
Friday, June 8, 2018 - 8:00am
It's been one year since the Paul Reynolds Community Centre opened its doors to the public...

Pages