Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 11:15am
The built heritage in St. John’s is a significant part of our culture. Each year on Heritage Day the City recognizes outstanding efforts in heritage restoration with the annual heritage awards.
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 - 4:00pm
​ChillFest 2019 takes place Thursday, Feb.14 to Monday, Feb. 18. See the complete events listing by clicking 'read more'.
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 - 1:45pm
Holmes, who passed away February 1, 2019, was one of the city's most prolific muralists.
Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 9:30am
Poet Mary Dalton has been chosen as the new Poet Laureate for the City of St. John’s, was officially welcomed in the position at the public City Council meeting on Monday, Feb. 11, 2019.
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 4:45pm
On Jan. 22 the City was contacted by a member of the media to advise of a privacy breach related to an Access to Information request.The City apologizes to anyone whose privacy may have been affected.
Thursday, January 3, 2019 - 2:15pm
The Winter Activity Centre at Pippy Park opens for the season on Friday, Jan. 4 and the following weekend on Saturday, Jan. 12 in Bowring Park. For details click 'read more'
Thursday, December 27, 2018 - 10:15am
The City of St. John’s invites residents to join our New Year’s Eve celebrations on Monday, December 31 with free events for all ages. Click 'read more' for all details.
Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 9:30am
The Loop at Bannerman Park opens at noon Thursday, Dec. 20 and will be open daily from 10 a.m. to 11 p.m. when ice conditions are favourable.
Tuesday, December 18, 2018 - 3:30pm
The Peoples’ Choice Award winner for the City’s bike rack design contest, including a $1,000 prize, is Costal Cycle Station (Whale tail design) submitted by Deborah Guillemette.
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 12:15pm
Since the release and approval of this year’s budget for 2019, there has been public discussion and debate about the tax burden for local business operators. Council have clarified some key points.
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 - 8:30am
The REAL program is fully dependent on your financial support to provide children and youth in with recreation and leisure experiences. Consider giving the gift of play this holiday season.
Tuesday, December 4, 2018 - 9:15am
The Festival of Music and Lights takes place on Saturday, Dec. 8 at 5 p.m. at the Bowring Park Duck Pond.
Friday, November 23, 2018 - 1:30pm
Infographic on Managing Waste...
Thursday, November 22, 2018 - 1:45pm
We've been celebrating National Child Day with a week full of free activities and the marquee event to close our celebrations is MOVE IT!
Friday, November 16, 2018 - 3:30pm
The city will collect donations for the food bank during your waste collection day this week, November 19 to 23. Place food items out by the road by 8 a.m.
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 4:15pm
Due to Remembrance Day holiday and high wind warnings in the forecast there are additional changes to the garbage and recycling schedule this week.
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 3:30pm
Halloween is an exciting time for trick-or-treaters and the City of St. John's want to ensure all the ghosts and goblins are safe while having fun.
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 4:30pm
Interview with Mayor Danny Breen and Councillor Sandy Hickman about the future of Mile One and the Convention Centre.
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 3:00pm
Understanding the budget and what’s involved in the budgeting process will help you understand how we use your tax dollars to provide the services and programs you have come to expect.
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 9:15am
In 2019, the capital city is going to face a number of operational pressures, including anticipated increases to our annual light and power bill...
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 2:45pm
Information to assist residents in the Petty Harbour Long Pond water service area...
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 1:00pm
You’re invited to BikeFest on Sunday, September 16, a free cycling event for all ages and abilities in downtown St.John's.
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 - 9:45am
Splash pads at Bowring Park and Bannerman Park are an alternative to cool down until Monday, Sept. 3, as the outdoor pools are closed for the season.
Friday, August 24, 2018 - 11:15am
New softball pitch getting great use this summer...
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 - 11:45am
The impact of property values on City revenue and budgeting...

Pages