Freedom of the City

Freedom of the City

The Freedom of the City is the highest award conferred by the City of St. John's. Since 1944 there have been a total of eighteen ceremonies and one formal recognition of the awarding the Freedom of the City.

May 16, 1944
H.M.S. Newfoundland
Formally recognized by the City of St. John's in February 2008.  Medal presented to the H.M.S. Newfoundland Association at the Regular Meeting of Council on November 10, 2008.

July 1, 1963
Royal Newfoundland Regiment, 57th anniversary of Beaumont Hamel.

May 22, 1968
Viscount Montgomery of Alamein

October 10, 1970
Opening of the new City Hall, the presenters of the City's Civic symbols were made freemen.
- Irish Ambassador Joseph Shields
- Alderman D.C. MacLean, Provost of Ayr, Scotland
- Alan O. Will, O.B.E. of Bristol, England

Also on the same day, former Mayor Henry G.R. Mews was awarded the Freedom of the City.

August 31, 1977
Andrew Crosbie

April 24, 1985
H.M.C.S. Cabot

June 22, 1996
H.M.C.S. St. John's

September 11, 1997 
Paul Johnson

May 28, 2000
- Church Lads Brigade [the organization]
- Drum Major William Tilley
- Major Walter Learning, C.M.
- Colonel Adrian Heffernan

May 12, 2001
World Junior Championship Curling Team:
- Brad Gushue, Skip
- Mark Nichols, Third
- Brent Hamilton, Second
- Mike Adam, Lead
- Jamie Korab, Fifth
- Jeff Thomas, Coach

November 15, 2004
Dr. Paul O'Neill

June 19, 2005
Royal Canadian Regiment
September 30, 2008
Dr. Nigel Rusted
October 31, 2009
56 Engineer Squadron
June 24, 2010
John J. Murphy
August 18, 2010 
Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
The RNC Legacy sculpture was unveiled the same day.

May 19, 2016
Elinor Gill Ratcliffe

July 26, 2018
Shannie Duff