Wednesday, December 20, 2017 - 12:30 PM

Christmas and New Years Holiday City Schedule

stock image of red christmas tree bulb with tree branches in the background

Due to the upcoming holidays all City offices and facilities are closed;

  • Noon on Friday, Dec. 22, re-opening Wednesday, Dec. 27
  • Noon on Friday, Dec. 29, re-opening Tuesday, Jan. 2 

Please note the following exceptions:

  • The Access Call Centre is available to residents 24/7; however front counter service is unavailable during times noted above.
  • Parking meter regulations will not be enforced Monday, Dec. 25; Tuesday, Dec. 26; and, Monday, Jan. 1.
  • Animal Care and Adoption Centre is open 3 to 5 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 23 and Dec.30
  • The next City Council meeting takes place 4:30 p.m., Monday, Jan. 8. 

Recreation Facilities
The H.G.R. Mews Community Centre and Paul Reynolds Community Centre close at noon, Sunday, Dec. 24 and re-open Wednesday, Dec. 27. Both centres close at noon Sunday, Dec. 31 and re-open Tuesday, Jan. 2. The following recreation facilities are closed from noon Sunday, Dec. 24 and re-open Tuesday, Jan.2:

  • Recreation Division offices, Crosbie Road
  • Kilbride Lions Community Centre
  • Southlands Community Centre
  • Shea Heights Community Centre 

Waste Collection
There is no waste collection on December 25 and 26. The waste collection schedule for Areas 1 and 2 moves to Wednesday; Area 3 moves to Thursday; Area 4 moves to Friday; Area 5 moves to Saturday.

There is no waste collection on Monday, Jan. 1. Collection for all residents moves to the next day. The schedule returns to the regular fixed collection schedule on Monday, Jan. 8. 


 

Christmas Tree Drop Off
Only natural, undecorated trees are accepted as they will be mulched for use in landscaping projects.
Drop off locations:

  • Quidi Vidi Lake, large gravel parking lot off The Boulevard; Friday, Dec. 29 to Sunday, Jan. 14
  • Robin Hood Bay Residential Drop-Off, 340 East White Hills Road, from Dec. 27 to Jan. 13; Hours of operation are Tuesday to Saturday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. except when closed for statutory holidays.

Due to NYE fireworks the Christmas Tree drop off at Quidi Vidi Lake is closed December 31 and January 1. If the fireworks are postponed due to weather the drop off will also be closed on January 2.