Tuesday, August 27, 2013 - 10:00 AM

Notice of Candidates for 2013 Municipal Election

Election 2013 Vote logo

The City of St. John’s is conducting its Municipal Election on Tuesday, Sept. 24. Nominations for the City of St. John’s 2013 municipal election closed at 4 p.m. today with a total of 30 candidates vying for the 11 available positions.

“Many thanks to everyone who put forward their names for nomination,” says Returning Officer, Neil Martin. “The next step is for residents of the City to make their vote by mail count.”

The following list outlines the candidates for each position.

Chaulk, Geoff
O’Keefe, Dennis
O’Leary, Sheilagh

Deputy Mayor
Ellsworth, Ron
McCreath, Jennifer

Ward 1 Councillor
Breen, Danny - Acclaimed

Ward 2 Councillor
Fitzgerald, Scott
Galgay, Jonathan
Harvey, Andrew

Ward 3 Councillor
Colborne Penney, Sarah
Harding, Walter
Tilley, Bruce

Ward 4 Councillor
Davis, Bernard
Holmes, Tracy
Puddister, Lou

Ward 5 Councillor
Collins, Wally
Flight, Sherwin

Councillor at Large (four positions open)
Badcock, Tom
Hann, Tom
Hickman, Sandy
Lane, Dave
Loder, Lorne
Manuel, Steve
Puddister, Art
Sears, Paul
Stapleton, Deanne
West, Lionel
Whitten, Cecil
Winsor, Derek
Winsor, Fred

Vote by mail kits will be placed in the mail on Sept. 6 to all persons registered on the voters list. Eligible voters can return the completed kit in either one of the following ways: 

  • Via the mail up to Thursday, Sept.19 (to ensure it is received by the City on Election Day)
  • Placed in a drop box outside City Hall 24 hours a day, seven days a week, up to and including Election Day
  • Drop off the completed kits to one of the five designated Satellite Drop off Centres on Election Day

Residents are encouraged to check or update voter details by visiting www.stjohns.ca or calling 311 or 754-CITY (2489).

For further information:
Maureen Harvey
Elections Coordinator
City of St. John’s
Phone: (709) 576-8019
Cell: (709) 697-3418
E-mail: mharvey@stjohns.ca