News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Friday, January 22, 2021 - 11:30am
Committee of the Whole (COTW) meetings are now scheduled to take place every other Wednesday starting at 9:30 a.m.
Friday, January 22, 2021 - 10:30am
The Winter Activity Centre in the North Bank Lodge at Pippy Park is opening for the season at 1 p.m. today (Friday, Jan. 22).
Monday, January 18, 2021 - 10:45am
As part of Budget 2021, fines for parking violations were increased. Amendments to several city by-laws were required before these increases could come into effect.
Wednesday, January 13, 2021 - 9:15am
At the Committee of the Whole meeting on January 13, Council received a report outlining the results of the City’s 2020 Citizen Satisfaction Survey.
Monday, January 11, 2021 - 11:45am
The City of St. John’s is accepting nominations for the 2021 Heritage Awards. Nominations are due by Friday, February 5.
Friday, January 8, 2021 - 9:15am
Beginning February 1, 2021, approximately 15,000 households will have a new or modified collection day.
Tuesday, January 5, 2021 - 9:30am
On January 11 and 12 at 11 a.m., the St. John’s Local Immigration Partnership is hosting a YouTube premiere event for newcomers to the city of St. John’s.
Thursday, December 24, 2020 - 11:00am
The St. John’s Regional Fire Department advises that the Consumer Fireworks Program requires all vendors who sell fireworks to have persons on staff that are certified to sell consumer fireworks.
Monday, December 21, 2020 - 12:45pm
Due to the upcoming holidays all City offices and facilities are closed at noon on Thursday, Dec. 24, re-opening on Tuesday, Dec. 29; and, at noon on Thursday, Dec. 31, re-opening on Monday, Jan. 4.
Friday, December 18, 2020 - 8:30am
The Loop at Bannerman Park opens Friday, Dec. 18, 2020 and remains open for the 2020-21 season daily from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. when conditions are favourable.
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 - 11:00am
The goal of the 24-Hour Parking Restriction is to remove vehicles from on-street parking to enhance the efficiency of snow clearing operations.
Monday, December 14, 2020 - 3:30pm
The City of St. John’s New Year’s Eve fireworks display will occur at 8 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 31 over Quidi Vidi Lake.
Friday, December 11, 2020 - 10:30am
What We Heard (WWH) during public engagement for a proposed flood mitigation construction project along parts of Rennies River is now available.
Thursday, December 10, 2020 - 11:15am
St. John’s City Council is listening to the public’s concerns regarding the closure of the Railway Coastal Museum. The decision to close the museum was not made lightly.
Thursday, December 10, 2020 - 9:45am
City staff have begun the ice making at The Loop; however, it is not suitable for skating at this time. Due to COVID-19 guidelines the number of attendees at The Loop will be restricted.
Wednesday, December 9, 2020 - 5:30pm
Fire safety is important at any time of the year, but with the extra distractions of Christmas it is especially important to be vigilant.
Monday, December 7, 2020 - 3:30pm
The City budget was balanced at $312,526,525 through a mixture of spending reductions, fee increases and one-time investments...
Thursday, December 3, 2020 - 10:45am
Effective Monday, January 4, 2021 the Construction Permit Counter located at Access St. John’s (first floor of City Hall), will be relocating across the street to the Inspection Services Division.
Wednesday, December 2, 2020 - 1:30pm
The City of St. John’s has issued a Request for Proposals (RFP) seeking a tenant for food/beverage service at the Bannerman Park Canteen, formerly operated by Beavertails.
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 - 2:45pm
Winter parking restrictions vary depending on where you park your vehicle. Learn more...
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 - 9:30am
Today, Councillor Dave Lane, Council lead on Finance, has released a video explaining the process Council used to prepare this year’s budget.
Friday, November 27, 2020 - 1:45pm
This holiday season consider giving the gift of play to a child in need.
Friday, November 27, 2020 - 9:15am
On Thursday, December 3, the City of St. John’s encourages all residents and businesses to light up St. John’s as we celebrate the holiday season in a spirit of community togetherness.
Thursday, November 26, 2020 - 4:00pm
These proposed regulations include a new four-bag limit on the number of garbage bags that residents without automated carts can put at the curb.
Wednesday, November 25, 2020 - 11:00am
In preparing the 2021 budget, Council asked all city departments, St. John's Sports and Entertainment and Metrobus, to find savings in an effort to avoid raising the mill rate.

Pages