News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Wednesday, August 21, 2019 - 2:30pm
On Monday, August 19, City Council awarded a contract for the supply of new pay stations and parking meters to Cale Canada in partnership with EDC Corporation.
Friday, August 16, 2019 - 12:15pm
Public engagement on a proposed replacement location for the H.G.R Mews Community Centre at Mundy Pond Park took place in July. The ‘What We Heard’ document is now available online.
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 - 11:30am
Feedback will be considered by recreation staff in determining future programs, services, courses and events that will be offered at the Kenmount Terrace Community Centre.
Monday, August 5, 2019 - 2:30pm
The City is reminding motorists to be mindful and respectful when driving, especially through residential neighborhoods.
Monday, August 5, 2019 - 9:15am
Residents are advised that all City offices are closed during the Royal St. John’s Regatta holiday.
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 - 12:45pm
The watermain in various areas of the city is scheduled for cleaning and structural lining from Aug. to Nov. 2019.
Thursday, July 25, 2019 - 10:00am
In partnership with the City of St. John’s, Canadian Tire Jumpstart Charities announced today plans to build a universally accessible playground in Mundy Pond Park.
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 - 1:45pm
A Decision Note regarding the future of using phone-only payment on Harbour Drive will be presented and discussed at the upcoming Committee of the Whole meeting on Wed. July 24 in Council Chambers.
Friday, July 19, 2019 - 11:45am
The City of St. John’s is hosting a public information session about the Anglican Cathedral of St. John the Baptist’s application to build a new multi-purpose annex at 16 Church Hill.
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 - 10:00am
The public are invited to one of two engagement sessions to provide feedback on a new proposed site location for the replacement of the H.G.R. Mews Community Centre at Mundy Pond Park.
Friday, July 12, 2019 - 10:45am
Due to the Orangemen’s Day holiday on Mon. July 15, most City offices and facilities will be closed. Garbage and recycling collection is unaffected by the holiday.
Thursday, July 11, 2019 - 1:00pm
The St. John’s Regional Fire Department offers simple tips to ensure safe grilling.
Thursday, July 11, 2019 - 10:00am
The Mayors of Mount Pearl, Paradise and St. John’s addressed federal requirements to complete secondary wastewater treatment from the Riverhead Wastewater Treatment Facility by the end of 2020.
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 - 1:00pm
The Bowring Park Foundation and the City of St. John’s are pleased to honour two extraordinary individuals in a naming ceremony.
Monday, July 8, 2019 - 11:45am
St. John’s is expected to have the fastest real gross domestic product (GDP) growth of any major Canadian metropolitan area in 2019.
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 - 2:45pm
With the completion of the Water St construction project, two-way traffic will resume on Wednesday, July 3 at 7:30 am. A new 2-hour timed parking restriction being installed one section of Water St.
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 - 12:30pm
Starting on Wednesday, July 3 and continuing for approximately two days, flushing of the Petty Harbour Long Pond water transmission main will occur overnight, between 12:30 and 6:30 a.m.
Friday, June 28, 2019 - 10:15am
Due to the Canada Day and Memorial Day holiday on Monday, July 1, most City offices and facilities will be closed.
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 11:30am
The second phase of the Water Street project has progressed well this spring and is on schedule to be completed on time.
Friday, June 21, 2019 - 11:15am
Poet Laureate Mary Dalton has partnered with 93.5 CHMR-FM to create and produce a poetry podcast called Flahoolic. Several episodes are currently available, with more scheduled for release.
Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 2:15pm
Due to the St. John’s Day holiday on Monday, June 24, most City offices and facilities will be closed. Garbage and recycling collection is going ahead Monday.
Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 9:30am
In July, construction will begin for the next phase of the Victoria Park Revitalization project. Construction on this phase is expected to take approximately five months.
Thursday, June 13, 2019 - 2:00pm
Starting on Monday, June 17 and continuing for approximately five days, flushing of the Petty Harbour Long Pond water transmission main will occur overnight, between 12:30 and 6:30 a.m.
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 - 3:30pm
Residents are invited to provide feedback on the preliminary recommendations for the Public Transit Review. Two drop-in public sessions are scheduled June 26 and 27.
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 - 10:30am
The City of St. John’s invites residents to celebrate St. John’s Days from June 21 to 24 and Canada Day on July 1. Free events to appeal to all ages and interests are scheduled.

Pages