News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 11:00am
Today, the City of St. John’s and Happy City St. John’s announced a collaboration to enter into the Canadian Smart Cities Challenge, an initiative of the federal government.
Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 11:45am
A water transmission main replacement project on Portugal Cove Road is scheduled to start the first week of April and will continue until late fall 2018.
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 2:30pm
Due to the Good Friday holiday all City offices and facilities will be closed on Friday, March 30. Garbage (5A/5B) and recycling (5A) collection is moved to Saturday, March 31.
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 11:00am
On Monday, April 2, construction will begin at the intersection of Queen Street and Water Street for the first phase of a five-year project to rehabilitate underground infrastructure.
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
Winter Overnight Parking Restrictions Lifted
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 12:45pm
The first phase of the new automated garbage collection program is starting Monday, June 11 for approximately one third of City households. Carts and important information will be delivered in May.
Friday, March 23, 2018 - 11:45am
The watermain in the Rabbittown area is scheduled for cleaning and structural lining from April to December 2018 in order to reduce maintenance issues and improve water service.
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 11:15am
City Council have voted in favour of a decision that will see all shelter cats spayed or neutered prior to being adopted from the Animal Care and Adoption Centre.
Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 3:45pm
Due to St. Patrick’s Day holiday all City offices and facilities will be closed on Monday, March 19.
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 4:00pm
The City of St. John's is seeking nominations for the annual Senior of the Year Award. If you know a special person (age 60 plus) who deserves recognition please complete a form.
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 11:30am
The City of St. John’s, the St. John’s Local Immigration Partnership, along with several community partners, are pleased to celebrate Multiculturalism Week, March 18 to 24.
Friday, March 9, 2018 - 10:15am
The City of St. John's is seeking nominations for the annual Tourism Awards by 4 p.m. April 13, to be presented during National Tourism Week May 27 to June 2.
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 10:15am
At 2 a.m. on Sunday, March 11 Standard Time returns to Daylight Savings Time. When you change your clocks also change your smoke alarm batteries - your life depends on it!
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 9:45am
On Monday, March 5, City Council voted to approve $1,259,850 in grants to 174 community organizations and individuals, including 35 new applicants for 2018.
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 3:15pm
Today, St. John’s City Council voted to approve the Annual Capital Budget for 2018. The plan includes approximately $23 million for capital projects.
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 3:00pm
Today, City Council voted to award the tender for the first phase of a five year project to rehabilitate water and sewer infrastructure on Water Street. Work is set to begin in early April.
Friday, March 2, 2018 - 9:30am
Nominations for the Building Healthy Communities volunteer recognition awards are open and accepted up to 4 p.m. Friday, March 16.
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 3:30pm
Over the next few weeks residents of St. John’s may be contacted to participate in the City’s first ever Citizen Satisfaction Survey.
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 9:30am
The Heritage Financial Incentives Program aims to conserve heritage resources by assisting property owners to maintain buildings and homes located in the City's Heritage Areas.
Monday, February 19, 2018 - 4:30pm
Each year on Heritage Day, the third Monday in February, the City of St. John’s takes a moment to recognize individuals and businesses for their outstanding heritage restoration efforts.
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 3:45pm
Today, Council’s Committee of the Whole voted for approval-in-principle on six proposed traffic pilot projects for 2018.
Monday, February 12, 2018 - 12:30pm
The City of St.John’s congratulates the nominees for the 2017 St. John’s Athlete and Team of the Year. Winners will be announced at a reception being held tonight at City Hall.
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 9:00am
Economic Review 2017 reports that economic performance in the St. John’s Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) was subdued in 2017.
Friday, February 2, 2018 - 10:00am
Responding to calls from the public to establish a Municipal Auditor General to improve the City’s governance, the City is set to establish a panel to review and advise on the best governance process.
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 12:45pm
On Wednesday, Jan. 31, City Council will be presented with a Paid Parking Management Strategy at the regularly scheduled Committee of the Whole Meeting.

Pages