Proclamations

Proclamations are ceremonial documents, signed by the Mayor, designating a given period of time (day, week or month) to recognize the efforts and commitments of an event or organization that enhances the community, encourages public awareness, and/or provides recognition for events that are significant to the City.

Interested in having the City proclaim your event? Please review the Protocol Policy before filling out the application. The proclamation request needs to be submitted at least 4 weeks prior to the event.

2020 Proclamations
September
Energy Efficiency Week - September 28-October 4 2020 Monday, September 28, 2020
National Tree Day - September 23 2020 Friday, September 11, 2020
Arthritis Awareness Month - September 2020 Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Childhood Cancer Awareness Month - September 2020 Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) Awareness Week - September 7 - 11 2020 Tuesday, September 1, 2020
National Polycystic Kidney Disease Awareness Day - September 4 2020 Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month - September 2020 Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Pulmonary Fibrosis Month - September 2020 Tuesday, September 1, 2020
July
Genocide in Srebrenica, Bosnia and Herzegovina - July 11, 2020 Monday, July 6, 2020
June
Operation Smiles - The Longest Day of Smiles - June 20, 2020 Saturday, June 20, 2020
Brain Injury Awareness Month - June 2020 Monday, June 1, 2020
Hidradenitis Suppurativa Awareness Week - June 1 - 7, 2020 Monday, June 1, 2020
May
Francophone Day - May 30, 2020 Monday, May 25, 2020
Recreation Month - June, 2020 Monday, May 25, 2020
April
Child Abuse Prevention Month - April 2020 Wednesday, April 1, 2020
March
Easter Seals Month - March 2020 Monday, March 9, 2020
International Women's Day - March 8, 2020 Monday, March 9, 2020
National Lymphedema Awareness Day - March 6, 2020 Monday, March 2, 2020
Nutrition Month - March 2020 Monday, March 2, 2020
February
Heritage Day - February 17, 2020 Monday, February 17, 2020
Kin Day - Kin Week - February 16-22, 2020 Monday, February 17, 2020
Allied Youth Week - February 9-15, 2020 Monday, February 10, 2020
White Cane Week - February 2-8, 2020 Monday, February 3, 2020
January
Eating Disorder Awareness Week - February 1-7, 2020 Monday, January 27, 2020
International Day of Zero Tolerance for Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) - February 6, 2020 Monday, January 27, 2020
2019 Proclamations
December
Golden Broom Awards - December 2019 Monday, December 2, 2019
International Day of Persons with Disabilities - December 3 2019 Monday, December 2, 2019
November
Giving Tuesday - December 3 2019 Monday, November 25, 2019
Pancreatic Cancer Month - November 2019 Monday, November 25, 2019
National Child Day - November 20 2019 Monday, November 18, 2019
National Housing Day - November 22 2019 Monday, November 18, 2019
National Restorative Justice Week - November 17-24 2019 Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Financial Literacy Month - November 2019 Monday, November 4, 2019
World Town Planning Day - November 8 2019 Monday, November 4, 2019
October
Down Syndrome Week - November 1-7, 2019 Monday, October 28, 2019
International Walk or Wheel to Work month - October 2019 Monday, October 28, 2019
International Stuttering Awareness Day - October 22 2019 Monday, October 21, 2019
Islamic History and Heritage Month - October 2019 Monday, October 21, 2019
Credit Union Day - October 17, 2019 Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Energy Efficiency Week - September 14-20 2019 Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Rogers Hometown Hockey Week - October 14-20 2019 Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Disability Employment Awareness Month - October 2019 Monday, October 7, 2019
Metrobus-VOCM Cares FoodDrive - October 4-14 2019 Monday, October 7, 2019
Seniors CARP Week - Sept 30 - October 6 2019 Thursday, October 3, 2019
September
iWalk-iWheel to Work Month - October 2019 Monday, September 30, 2019
World Breastfeeding Week - October 1 - 7, 2019 Monday, September 30, 2019
Wrongful Convictions Day - October 2 2019 Monday, September 30, 2019
CircusFest - September 26-29, 2019 Monday, September 23, 2019
National Recovery Day - September 25, 2019 Monday, September 23, 2019
National Tree Day - September 25, 2019 Monday, September 23, 2019
Pulmonary Fibrosis Month - September 2019 Monday, September 16, 2019
Sexual Violence Awareness Week - September 16-20 2019 Monday, September 16, 2019
fasdNL Awareness Week - September 9-13 2019 Monday, September 9, 2019
Fire Prevention Week - October 6 - 12, 2019 Monday, September 9, 2019
Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month - September 2019 Monday, September 9, 2019
Performance & Learning Month - September 2019 Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD) Awareness Day - September 4, 2019 Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Prostate Cancer Month - September 2019 Tuesday, September 3, 2019
August
International Women in Cyber Day - September 1, 2019 Monday, August 19, 2019
July
National Injury Prevention Day - July 5 2019 Friday, July 5, 2019
June
National Indigeneous Peoples Day - June 21, 2019 Monday, June 17, 2019
Stroke Month - June 2019 Monday, June 17, 2019
Recreation and Parks Month - June 2019 Monday, June 10, 2019
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Awareness Month June 2019 Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Hidradenitis Suppurativa (HS) Awareness Week June 3 - 9, 2019 Tuesday, June 4, 2019
National Deafblind Awareness Month - June, 2019 Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Planners Centenary recognition Monday, June 3, 2019
May
National Health & Fitness Day - May 2019 Monday, May 27, 2019
Paramedic Services Week - May 26 - June 1, 2019 Monday, May 27, 2019
Provincial Francophone Day - May 30, 2019 Monday, May 27, 2019
Cystic Fibrosis Awareness Month - May, 2019 Monday, May 13, 2019
Child & Youth Care Week - May 5-11, 2019 Monday, May 6, 2019
Clean St. John's - Clean Up Campaign May 6, 2019 Monday, May 6, 2019
Mental Health Week - May 6-12, 2019 Monday, May 6, 2019
World Ovarian Cancer Day - May 8, 2019 Monday, May 6, 2019
Multiple Sclerosis (MS) Awareness Month Friday, May 3, 2019
April
International Dance Day - April 29 2019 Monday, April 29, 2019
NAOSH Week - May 5-11, 2019 Monday, April 29, 2019
Youth Week - May 1 - 7, 2019 Monday, April 29, 2019
National Organ & Tissue Donor Awareness Week - April 21 - 27, 2019 Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Talk with our Kids about Money - April 17 2019 Tuesday, April 23, 2019
March
Epilepsy-Purple Day - March 26 2019 Monday, March 25, 2019
International Day for Elimination of Racial Discrimination - March 21 2019 Thursday, March 21, 2019
World Lymphedema Awareness Month - March 2019 Monday, March 4, 2019
February
Allied Youth Week - February 24 - March 2, 2019 Monday, February 18, 2019
Heritage Day-Week, February 2019 Monday, February 18, 2019
Heart Month Monday, February 11, 2019
White Cane Week - February 3 - 9, 2019 Monday, February 4, 2019