Attractions

St. John's offers spectacular ocean vistas, striking scenery, outstanding hiking trails, fantastic museums, significant historical and cultural sites and so many more attractions to keep you busy throughout your stay.

Pippy Park
Pippy Park is a 3,400 acre (1,376 hectare) land reserve, and a nature conservation and recreation area within minutes of the downtown core. Pippy Park also contains a range of recreational facilities... Read More
Street:
Mount Scio Road
PRESENTATION CONVENT MUSEUM
Visitation: Monday to Friday  1 pm to 3 pm Get thee to a nunnery. More specifically, get thee to the Presentation Motherhouse, in Cathedral Square next to the Catholic... Read More
Street:
Cathedral Square, Military Road
Telephone #:
(709) 753-7291
Quidi Vidi Village
Quidi Vidi Village is a picturesque fishing village within the City of St. John's. While wandering through the narrow winding roads you can visit Quidi Vidi Village Plantation, Mallard Cottage or... Read More
Quidi Vidi Village Plantation
Picturesque fishing village premises featuring craft studios minutes from downtown St. John's.  Watch emerging crafts persons create one-of-a kind works in a varitey of mediums, and purchase... Read More
Street:
10 Maple View Place
RAILWAY COASTAL MUSEUM
In this magnificent heritage building that was once a train station, exhibits tell the 100 year history of the Newfoundland Railway and Coastal Boat services.
Street:
495 Water Street
Telephone #:
(709) 724-5929
Toll Free #:
1-866-600-7245
ROYAL NEWFOUNDLAND CONSTABULARY POLICE MUSEUM
Regimental museum and archives with a limited collection of special interest to Royal Newfoundland Regiment historians and former family members with direct regimental ties and interests. Open by... Read More
Street:
Fort Townshend, Parade Street
Telephone #:
(709) 729-8023
ROYAL ST. JOHN'S REGATTA MUSEUM
Street:
Quidi Vidi Lake
Telephone #:
(709) 576-8921(Beginning of May to end of August)
Signal Hill National Historic Site
This historic site celebrates the rich communications and military history of Signal Hill and sits amidst a spectacular view of St. John's and the sea. Signal Hill was where Guiglielmo Marconi... Read More
Telephone #:
(709) 772-5367/4444
Fax #:
(709) 772-6302
ST. ANDREW'S PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH (The Kirk)
On Queen's Road stands an imposing Gothic Revival building with an impressive spire. St. Andrew's was built in 1894 after the original presbyterian church on Duckworth Street was destroyed in... Read More
Street:
76 Queen's Road
Telephone #:
(709) 726-5385
St. John's Waterfront
To get a real sense of St. John's, a walk along the waterfront is a must. The harbour, located in historic downtown, has provided shelter to explorers, merchants, soldiers, pirates and mariners... Read More
Street:
Harbour Drive
ST. PATRICK'S CATHOLIC CHURCH
Completed in 1875, St. Patrick's Catholic Church was built to serve the growing population in the west end of the city. Its vaulted roof is supported by 18 stone pillars and pointed arches. St.... Read More
Street:
Patrick Street
Telephone #:
(709) 754-1195
ST. THOMAS ANGLICAN CHURCH
A striking black wooden building opened in 1836, St. Thomas Anglican Church is the oldest church in St. John's. Located at the corner of Military and King's Bridge Roads, it originally served... Read More
Street:
8 Military Road
Telephone #:
(709) 576-6632/6641
SUNCOR ENERGY FLUVARIUM
A unique facility on the shores of Long Pond in the heart of C. A. Pippy Park.  A series of panoramic viewing windows gives visitors a chance to see the secret underwater life of a river. This... Read More
Street:
5 Nagle's Place
Telephone #:
(709) 754-3474 or (709) 722-3825
Website:
Terry Fox Mile 0 Site
  On April 12, 1980, Terry Fox dipped his artificial foot in the Atlantic Ocean off St. John's, Newfoundland, to begin his journey across Canada in aid of cancer research. His “... Read More
Street:
1 Water Street (behind the St. John's Port Authority building)
The Caribou Monument and Beaumont Hamel Memorial Plaque Replicas
Located in beautiful Bowring Park, the caribou monument was unveiled as a tribute on July 1, 1928.  The Caribou was the official insignia of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment.   Exact... Read More
Street:
Bowring Park
THE LILLIAN STEVENSON NURSING ARCHIVES/MUSEUM
The only combined hospital medical nursing archives/museum in Canada. It has a collection of hospital artifacts from the earlier days of medical and nursing practices in Newfoundland.
Street:
100 Forest Road
Telephone #:
(709) 777-7682
THE ROOMS
Opened in 2005, the Rooms is a state-of-the-art cultural centre that preserves and protects the province's heritage, history and culture. The Rooms houses the Newfoundland Museum, Provincial... Read More
Street:
9 Bonaventure Avenue
Telephone #:
(709) 757-8000
Fax #:
(709) 757-8017
Website:
The United States Armed Forces Monument
Erected and dedicated in August, 1991. Located on the former Pepperrell Air Force Base property on the north bank of Quidi Vidi Lake. The concrete monument is the original one constructed by the... Read More
Street:
Former Pepperrell Air Force Base, Property, North Bank of Quidi Vidi Lake
Tommy Ricketts Monument
Thomas Ricketts was the boy soldier who enlisted to fight in the First World War when he was just 15, and who like many of his buddies, lied about his age to enlist. In October 1918, he was one of... Read More
Street:
Water Street (across from Railway Coastal Museum)
Victoria Park
Victoria Park is located in the west end of St. John's and contains a natural Amphitheatre above the baseball diamond in the summer and the perfect snowboarding and sledding hill in the winter.... Read More
Street:
Water Street (West)
Website:
War Memorial
The Newfoundland War Memorial was unveiled between Duckworth Street and Water Street on July 1, 1924 - exactly eight years after the Newfoundland Regiment was decimated at Beaumont Hamel, France,... Read More
Street:
Water Street
WESLEY UNITED CHURCH
Also in the west end of the city, Wesley United, opened as a Methodist church in 1908, underwent a name change in 1925 with the founding of the United Church of Canada. The first radio station in... Read More
Street:
Patrick Street
Telephone #:
(709) 579-3682

Pages