Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Wednesday, February 2, 2022 - 2:30pm
Public engagement is open until Feb. 7 to educate residents about the traffic calming policy review, and to collect feedback to help shape a revised policy.
Thursday, January 27, 2022 - 10:15am
Property inspection, assessment and permitting can be a complicated process and the City encourages anyone contemplating a property purchase to seek legal assistance and the advice of professionals.
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 - 9:00am
The Winter Activity Centre in the North Bank Lodge at Pippy Park is opening for the season at noon on Tuesday, Jan. 25.
Monday, January 17, 2022 - 3:45pm
You can support Pink Shirt Day and the REAL Program by purchasing pink t-shirts from Universal Corporate Wear. One dollar from every shirt sold will be donated to REAL.
Monday, January 10, 2022 - 11:30am
The City of St. John’s will be extending the Self-Guided Festival of Music and Lights and other holiday lights until January 31, 2022 to keep spirits bright.
Tuesday, January 4, 2022 - 1:15pm
On-street parking ban outside the Downtown begins 12:30 a.m. January 5...
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 - 9:45am
Join us for a speculator firework display over Quidi Vidi Lake at 8 p.m. this Friday, December 31.
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 - 9:30am
A new Fireworks By-Law will come into effect in St. John’s on December 31.
Thursday, December 23, 2021 - 1:15pm
Santa’s got a brand-new bag this year – and it’s clear why? Santa knows that on January 1, The City of St. John’s requires clear- colourless bags for garbage except for one privacy bag per week.
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 - 4:15pm
Why not try something new this year? The City offers programs for all ages and abilities to be social, be creative or to get active.
Wednesday, December 15, 2021 - 2:15pm
On Wednesday, Dec. 15, Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O’Leary presented a $500 cheque from the City of St. John’s to East Point Elementary, the winning school of the 2021 IWALK challenge.
Tuesday, December 14, 2021 - 3:15pm
Starting on Jan. 1, 2022, garbage put at the curb in St. John’s must be in clear, colourless bags - except for one 'privacy' bag per week that can be an opaque, non-transparent bag.
Friday, December 10, 2021 - 4:00pm
Ring in the holiday season with our 20th annual music and lights celebration at Bowring Park Duck Pond! This festival is on now from 5 p.m. to 11 p.m. until January 6.
Friday, December 3, 2021 - 10:00am
Questions and Answers on City revenue, tax bills and the upcoming budget...
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 - 3:45pm
Registration for recreation winter programs begins at 7 a.m. on Thursday, December 2, for residents of St. John’s.
Friday, November 26, 2021 - 12:00pm
Enjoy free performances by musical entertainers, carolers, and some extra special guests that will put you in the holiday spirit at the first Downtown Holiday Shop & Stroll.
Monday, November 22, 2021 - 12:00pm
Learn more about Budget 2022, and to contribute to the public engagement process. Register for an upcoming virtual event on Nov 25 at 7 p.m.
Monday, November 15, 2021 - 11:45am
Ready, Set, Preschool is a four-week preschool drop-in program! Parents and staff will lead children in story time, crafts and active play.
Wednesday, November 10, 2021 - 8:45am
The attached questions and answers help to clarify some misinformation and questions we have been asked.
Thursday, November 4, 2021 - 3:00pm
On October 28, staff received a Luminary Award from takeCHARGE NL in the Leadership for an Organization category, during a virtual awards ceremony.
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 - 10:45am
Applications are now being accepted for the Community Services Grants program, and the Housing Catalyst Fund.
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 - 9:45am
Properly dispose of your pumpkin after Halloween – not in the garbage!
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 - 4:45pm
Based on the circumstances, the decision was made to suspend DSE from access to the building until the matter could be investigated...
Monday, October 25, 2021 - 12:15pm
Pumpkin Walk is a magnificent Halloween themed event for the entire family, and includes music and pop-up performances.
Thursday, October 21, 2021 - 1:00pm
Whether you’re an established company or just starting out with your first business, there are always questions. At the City of St. John’s Business Information Centre, our knowledgeable staff can help

Pages